Pallikonda

Pallikonda surrounded by green trees and mountain. It is situated on the Madras/Channei Bangalore highway. Once when I was on the way to yelagiri hills, my memory went back. My our vehicle crosses Pallikonda I just saw the shops, vegetable shops, saloon shop, theater, whole sale shop in the bus stop, …

My childhood memory starts here, like an autograph. I recall the days when we were there. I was born in this small village. My mum being a teacher there, she drops me everyday in my school on the way to her school. I still remember the old big lengthy house, were we lived with the owner (a grandma) … she take care of me and my brother …Baiyammachi is another unforgettable  neighborhood grandma …

My dad was also a teacher in Dindukal, visits us every weekend. With love the villagers call my dad as “Teacherappa/vaathiyaarappa”. Being sourrounded by green trees and mountains, there were many snakes, insects, leeches etc. If a snake enters into a house, they will definitely call my dad only ( Very BOLD person) for help. He goes there with a stick (silamboo kamboo – a bamboo stick) and kill it. Then the villagers offer milk, rice, flowers, eggs …  where my dad buried the snake.

During my schooling, I remembered a small stream and coconut form behind my house. My aunt Sheela was also staying in our house. She or my aunt Mano will feed me in the evening. When it rains heavily water overflows in the “River Paalaru”. Due to the flood buses will stops at both ends of the river. It was fun to watch the roaring river. After my marriage we were in Bangalore. We went to Pallikonda with my parents and saw the grandmothers with tears.

When my mum got transfer to Ramanathapuram all our friends give us send off with tears …

 

Leave a Reply

